the online magazine for bass players

Search Menu

Godspeed You! Black Emperor Releases “Asunder, Sweet and Other Distress”

Godspeed You! Black Emperor: Asunder, Sweet and Other DistressGodspeed You! Black Emperor (GYBE) has released Asunder, Sweet and Other Distress, the Canadian post-rock group’s first record since 2012’s Allelujah! Don’t Bend! Ascend!

The group, with its two-bassist lineup of Thierry Amar (double bass, bass) and Mauro Pezzente (bass), has a sound marked by major unison riffage, noise/drones, and guitar/strings counterpoint.

Just this one description from the record’s promotional materials offers an insight into the GYBE vibe: “The album closes with ‘Piss Crowns Are Trebled,’ a classic 14-minute piece of vintage Godspeed, where ascending and descending guitar and violin melodies intertwine over gut-rattling distorted bass in 3/4 time, segueing into a pummeling four-on-the-floor series of sparkling, soaring crescendos.”

Check out the sound, too, on “Peasantry or ‘Light! Inside of Light!’”:

Asunder, Sweet and Other Distress is available on CD, 180-gram vinyl and as a digital download (iTunes and Amazon MP3).

Asunder, Sweet and Other Distress Track List:

  1. Peasantry or ‘Light! Inside of Light!’
  2. Lambs’ Breath
  3. Asunder, Sweet
  4. Piss Crowns Are Trebled

Get the No Treble Daily Update in your inbox

Get the latest from No Treble in your inbox every morning.

Related topics: , ,

Share your thoughts