the online magazine for bass players

Search Menu

Brand X Official Bootleg Released

Brand X: Live From San FranciscoThe personnel of Brand X ebbed and flowed over the years for the jazz fusion band. Famed drummer and vocalist Phil Collins was often a member, and one of the more stalwart presences in the both the band’s mid-1970s-to-1980 and 1992-99 incarnations was bassist Percy Jones (Tunnels, ex-Soft Machine) who appears on a new Official Bootleg Series Release, Brand X: Live From San Francisco.

The record documents a performance (with Kenwood Dennard, not Collins, behind the drum kit) at the Old Waldorf Theatre in November 1977.

If you’re unfamiliar with the band’s sound, check out this performance of Malaga Virgen (unfortunately not from the San Francisco show). It’s something else:

Brand X: Live From San Francisco is available on CD.

Brand X: Live From San Francisco Track List:

  1. Disco Suicide
  2. Access To Data
  3. Malaga Virgen
  4. Earth Dance
  5. Euthanasia Waltz
  6. Deadly Nightshade