the online magazine for bass players

Search Menu

The Yellowjackets Release Album with New Bassist

Yellowjackets: CohearenceThe Yellowjackets have released their first album with Australian virtuoso bassist Dane Alderson.

The album, Cohearence, features jazz fusion, a rendition of the folk song “Shenandoah,” and a closing track with a chamber-jazz feel.

The band, which released its debut album under the Yellowjackets name in 1981 after forming in 1977 as the Robben Ford Group, introduced the music on the road in early 2015. “We spent a lot more time with the music than we usually do before we record,” said founding member/pianist/keyboardist Russell Ferrante. “We rehearsed the songs by playing them live, so that when we went into the studio we weren’t just playing our first impressions of the music. Then, we recorded totally live in less than two days.”

Alderson is following in the footsteps of bass excellence in the band. Founding bassist Jimmy Haslip was with the band through 2012. Jaco Pastorius’ son, Felix stepped in for Haslip from 2012 through 2015.

Here’s the band talking about the new album, and about Alderson joining:

Cohearence is available on CD and as a digital download (iTunes and Amazon MP3).

Cohearence Track List:

  1. Golden State
  2. Guarded Optimism
  3. Anticipation
  4. Inevitable Outcome
  5. Trane Changing
  6. Eddie’s in the House
  7. Fran’s Scene
  8. Child’s Play
  9. Shenandoah
  10. Coherence