Gov’t Mule Releases Album Featuring New Bassist

Gov’t Mule: By A ThreadSouthern rock jam band Gov’t Mule has released their first new studio album in three years, By A Thread, which features the latest addition to the group: bassist Jorgen Carlsson.

Jorgen, who grew up in Sweden, lives in Los Angeles where he has been a studio owner and musician. He has also formerly played in the band “Low Millions.” Jorgen replaced Andy Hess in September of last year, who in turn was a replacement for founding bassist Allen Woody, who passed away in 2000.

Fans of the group may take pleasure in hearing that the addition of Carlsson brings some Mule nostalgia to the band’s sound. Gov’t Mule’s frontman Warren Haynes explains, “While Jorgen brings his distinctive musical personality to the table, he also uncannily evokes some of (Allen) Woody’s spirit which inspired us to revisit our past.”

By A Thread Track List:

  1. Broke Down On The Brazos (w/ Billy Gibbons on guitar)
  2. Steppin’ Lightly
  3. Railroad Boy
  4. Monday Mourning Meltdown
  5. Gordon James
  6. Any Open Window
  7. Frozen Fear
  8. Forever More
  9. Inside Outside Woman Blues #3
  10. Scenes From a Troubled Mind
  11. World Wake Up

Editor’s note: help us welcome Kevin as No Treble’s newest contributor!

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts