The Nett Duo, featuring Charnett Moffett, Releases “Overtones”

The Nett Duo: OvertonesThe Nett Duo has released their debut recording, called Overtones. The duo, which consists of guitarist Jana Herzen and virtuoso bassist Charnett Moffett, put together a free-form program that blends jazz, rock, folk, and classical music.

“It is with great honor that I present ‘Overtones’,” Moffett says. “This freeform improvisational recording is influenced by raga, tribal, free jazz, blues, funk, rock and orchestral music. Music is a universal language, as exemplified by the many different types of musical cultures we have in our earthly society. The common denominator is our humanity. This project focuses on the vibrational overtones that resonate with the human senses. Performing in this duo format frees me up to play the creative musical idea on the bass in a lead capacity playing melodies, harmonies, and counterpoint, in addition to fulfilling its primary function and position. Enjoy.”

Hear Moffett’s amazing playing in the title track, set to photography by Sharron Lee Crocker:

The Nett Duo’s album Overtones is available now as a digital download from iTunes and Amazon MP3.

Overtones Track List:

  1. Overtones
  2. Metamorphosis
  3. Following The Idea
  4. Afro Cuz
  5. Free the Blues
  6. Celestial Dimensions
  7. Time Traveller

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts