Neil Young and Crazy Horse Return with “Colorado”

Neil Young and Crazy Horse: ColoradoNeil Young has played with plenty of bands over the years, but Crazy Horse is the one that keeps coming back. Describing it as “the most cosmic band I’ve ever played in,” the songwriter seems most at home with the group’s energy. Now Young and Crazy Horse have teamed up again for Colorado, a ten-song album that is their first since 2012’s Psychedelic Pill.

Crazy Horse’s lineup is still based on the rhythm section of drummer Ralph Molina and bassist Billy Talbot, who have been the backbone of the group since its inception in 1968. They are joined by guitarist Nils Lofgren, who was in the band for the early ’70s.

“There’s a very solid simplicity with Billy and Ralph, and it lends itself to space,” Lofgren tells Wired. “You can go off the grid a little bit, but they’re going to keep you covered, and there’s going to be space for it. It’s not going to be a train wreck of rhythms, even when Ralphie steps up his fills. They’re just sometimes so unusual and rhythmic, but Billy would always be there on the one.”

Check out their connection on the track “Rainbow of Colors”:

Colorado is available now on CD, vinyl and as a digital download (iTunes and Amazon MP3).

Colorado Track List:

  1. Think of Me
  2. She Showed Me Love
  3. Olden Days
  4. Help Me Lose My Mind
  5. Green is Blue
  6. Shut It Down
  7. Milky Way
  8. Eternity
  9. Rainbow of Colors
  10. I Do

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts