Brian Bromberg: Downright Upright

Brian Bromberg has released his latest CD, Downright Upright, featuring standards by Herbie Hancock and Joe Zawinul, and several of Bromberg’s own compositions.


Already released in Japan, Downright Upright is a return to the acoustic upright bass Bromberg recently spent time with on 2006’s Wood II. But this record represents a unique progression from that lauded cd, which was laced with Bromberg’s innocent humor and embellished with solo Paul McCartney and Earth, Wind and Fire covers. Far less intimate than Wood II, Downright Upright abandons the traditional trio format and takes on new collaborative touches, including those from pianists George Duke and Jeff Lorber, trumpeter Rick Braun, saxophonists Gary Meek, Boney James, and Kirk Whalum, drummer Vinnie Colaiuta, and perhaps most noticeably, guitarists Gannin Arnold and Lee Ritenour.


  1. Cantaloupe Island
  2. Mercy Mercy Mercy
  3. Cold Duck Time
  4. Sunday Mornin’
  5. The Hacha Cha Cha
  6. Chameleon
  7. Serengeti Walk
  8. Leisure Suit
  9. Slow Burn
  10. Shag Carpet


  • Brian Bromberg: upright bass, piccolo bass
  • Lee Ritenour, Gannin Arnold: guitar
  • George Duke, Jeff Lorber: piano
  • Boney James, Gary Meek, Kirk Whalum: tenor saxophone
  • Rick Braun: trumpet and flugelhorn
  • Vinnie Colaiuta: drums

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts

  1. I just watched this again. It’s still awesome!!! (Thanks for thinking I’m cool. That means a lot coming from you bass players.)