the online magazine for bass players

Search Menu

Sonic Youth share details about “The Eternal”

The much-anticipated 16th album from Sonic Youth is on its way. Among the new details are a release date, June 9, 2009, and cover art. Recorded last year at SY’s Echo Canyon West studio, the record features former Pavement/Dustdevils bassist Mark Ibold as the band’s newest studio member, replacing Jim O’Rouke. Ibold has been touring with the band for the past few years.

Also of note, Sonic Youth recently collaborated with legendary bassist John Paul Jones and mixed-media sound composer Takehisa Kosugi on music for the new Merce Cunningham Dance Company piece, “Nearly Ninety”. This work will premiere at the 2009 Gala Celebration on April 16, at the Brooklyn Academy of Music. The music will be performed live (in alternating turns) by the artists.

The Eternal track listings:

  1. Sacred Trickster
  2. Anti-Orgasm
  3. Leaky Lifeboat(for Gregory Corso)
  4. Antenna
  5. What We Know
  6. Calming The Snake
  7. Poison Arrow
  8. Malibu Gas Station
  9. Thunderclap For Bobby Pyn
  10. No Way
  11. Walkin Blue
  12. Massage The History

Sonic Youth live dates (2009):

April 22: Krems, Austria Donau Festival
April 23: Munich, Germany Haus der Kunst
April 24: Dusseldorf, Germany 3001
May 16: Williamsburg, Brooklyn Music Hall (No Fun Festival)