Cai Marle-Garcia: Mr. Ears

Cai Marle-Garcia: Mr. EarsBassist Cai Marle-Garcia is releasing his debut album, Mr. Ears on June 1st, and we have a sneak preview.

Mr. Ears includes saxophonists Tony Woods, Duncan Eagles and Rob Sell, keyboardists Kit Downes (BBC Jazz Rising Star Award 2008, Empirical, Jim Mullen, Dennis Rollins) and Steve Kite, drummers Martyn Kaine (Natalie Williams) and Dan Paton, guitarist Sagat Guirey (John Etheridge, Mark and Mike Mondesir, Robert Mitchell), Freddie Gavita (BBC Jazz Rising Star 2008) on trumpet, and Stuart Semple (Peter Erskine) on percussion.

The album features Cai’s original compositions based on his desire to “bring what made jazz-fusion in the 1970s and 80s so good, to the modern day,” drawing from his influences: Weather Report, Chick Corea, and Miles Davis.

Check out the preview of Another One Gone.

Complete track list:

  1. Another One Gone
  2. Moonlit in Mayotte
  3. Crazy Bee
  4. Orpheus
  5. Rio
  6. The Black Beast of Bolivia
  7. The Z Man
  8. Helsinki Special

Get details on how to order from Cai’s web site

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts