Ike Sturm: Jazz Mass

Ike Sturm: Jazz MassBassist Ike Sturm has released his new album, Jazz Mass. Sturm composed and arranged Jazz Mass for voices, strings, and jazz septet, resulting in a unique blend of textures.

“I have always loved the emotional heights and depths that can be revealed through voices and strings,” Sturm says. “To hear these sounds combine with some of my favorite improvisers is a great gift, especially while expressing texts that are sacred to me.”

The album is available on CDBaby.

Sturm is the music director for the Jazz Ministry at Saint Peter’s Church in Manhattan, NYC and has studied under Dave Holland. For more on Sturm, visit his web site.

Track list:

1. Kyrie
2. Gloria
3. Interlude
4. Hymn: Just As I Am
5. Offertory: Stillness
6. Sanctus
7. Thanksgiving
8. Our Father
9. Agnus Dei
10. Hymn: Shine

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts