Zander Zon Releases “Sonorous”

Zander Zon: SonorousUK-based bassist Zander Zon rose to fame on Youtube by posting some videos of his compositions and solo bass performances. To date, his videos have been viewed close to 600,000 times.

Zander first began playing the bass in 1999 after a musical upbringing in which he was classically trained on the cello for 10 years. After hearing Jaco Pastorius, Victor Wooten, and Michael Manring – who he cites as his main influence – he put piccolo strings on his electric bass and began experimenting with altered tunings.

Ultimately, this experimenting resulted in the release of his first album, Sonorous, which includes 10 tunes all played on his bass strung with piccolo strings and often in altered tunings.

Check out our previous coverage of Zander, and his tune “Epic Love”, which appears on the album.

Sonorous Track List:

  1. Epic Love
  2. Circle of Melodies
  3. I, Resolute
  4. Accelerate
  5. She Danced
  6. Tribal Chant
  7. Hope
  8. Looking Glass
  9. Meditation in E
  10. Sencilla

The CD is available for purchase and download at CD Baby.

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts