Absolute Zawinul

The last formal studio recording made by Joe Zawinul has been released. Absolute Zawinul, a project initiated by Kristjan Järvi, who collaborated with Zawinul on the project, was recorded in New York during the winter of 2006-2007, and released in Europe last November. The CD is now available in the U.S.

The recording includes several members of the Zawinul Syndicate, including bassist Linley Marthe. The CD includes an 11 minute video documentary about the making of the album.

Preview and download Absolute Zawinul

Absolute Zawinul Track List:

  1. Bimoya
  2. Sultan
  3. Great Empire
  4. Peace
  5. Good Day
  6. The Peasant
  7. Ballad For Two Musicians
  8. Ice Pick Willy

Absolute Zawinul Personnel:

Joe Zawinul: composer, keyboards and vocoder
Kristjan Järvi: music director, conductor
Gene Pritsker: arranger
Vesselin Gellev: violin
Neela de Fonseka: violin
Eddie Venegas: violin
Gregor Huebner: violin
Edmundo Ramirez: viola
Michael Block: cello
Mat Fieldes: acoustic, electric bass
Jay Elfenbein: acoustic, electric bass
Hayley Melitta Reid: flute, piccolo
Keve Wilson: oboe, English Horn
Michiyo Suzuki: clarinet, saxophone
Marianne Gythfeldt: clarinet
Martin Kuuskmann: bassoon
Damian Primis: contrabassoon
Charles Porter: trumpet
Ann Ellsworth: horn
Michael Seltzer: trombone
Damien Bassman: drums, percussion
Pablo Rieppi: percussion
John Ostrowski: percussion
Matt Herskowitz: piano, keyboard
Gene Pritsker: electric guitar
Sabine Kabongo: vocals
Allegre Corrêa: guitar, vocals
Aziz Sahmaoui: percussion, vocals, gumbri
Jorge Bezerra: percussion
Paco Séry: drums, percussion, kalimba
Linley Marthe: electric bass

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts