the online magazine for bass players

Search Menu

Ron Carter to Receive Donostiako Jazzaldia Award

Each year, the Heineken Jazzaldia (San Sebastian Jazz Festival, in Spain), honors a musician with the Donostiako Jazzaldia Award. The award is given to an “outstanding person in the field of jazz”.

Only July 22nd, bassist Ron Carter will receive the award. Carter will be performing at the festival with his Golden Striker Trio.

Past award winners include:

  • Doc Cheatham (1994)
  • Phil Woods (1995)
  • Hank Jones (1996)
  • Steve Lacy (1997)
  • Chick Corea (1998)
  • Max Roach and Clark Terry (1999)
  • Kenny Barron (2000)
  • Ray Brown (2001)
  • Elvin Jones (2002)
  • Bebo Valdes (2003)
  • Shirley Horn (2004)
  • Keith Jarrett (2005)
  • Herbie Hancock (2006)
  • Wayne Shorter (2007)
  • Ahmad Jamal (2008)
  • Roy Haynes (2009)

Get the No Treble Daily Update in your inbox

Get the latest from No Treble in your inbox every morning.

Related topics:

Share your thoughts