the online magazine for bass players

Search Menu

Israel “Cachao” Lopez’s Final Performance Released

Cachao: The Last MamboThe final performance by mambo legend Israel “Cachao” Lopez has been released as a two disc set, entitled The Last Mambo. The concert, which celebrated the bassist’s 80 years in music, was held at the Ziff Opera House a the Adrienne Arsht Center in Miami Florida in 2007. The album has Cachao leading a 24-piece orchestra.

The Cuban born Cachao is often credited as the inventor of the mambo and even earned a star on the Hollywood Walk of Fame. He passed away in 2008 at the age of 89, leaving behind a plethora of music for all to enjoy.

Preview and download The Last Mambo:

The Last Mambo Track List:

Disc 1:

  1. Mariano Social
  2. Africa Viva
  3. Buenaventura
  4. Los Tres Ases
  5. Isora Club

Disc 2:

  1. Descarga Cachao
  2. Descarga Candido
  3. Lluvia, Viento y Cana
  4. Dos Gardenias
  5. Obsesion
  6. El Cuarto De Tula
  7. Son Las Dos, Rosa
  8. Yambu

Get the No Treble Daily Update in your inbox

Get the latest from No Treble in your inbox every morning.

Related topics: ,

Share your thoughts