Freekbass Releases “Concentrate” as Free Album Download

Freekbass: ConcentrateFreekbass has released his fifth full length album, Concentrate. The bassist, who funk legend Bootsy Collins took under his wing, used the project to mix his two passions – electronica and funk bass – to create hard grooving and heavy soundscapes. The ten tracks are full of special guests, including DJ Spooky, Adam Deitch, Steve Molitz, Tobotius, and Bootsy himself.

Freekbass explained that the music came as a natural progression.

“…Concentrate is an album that feels a bit like coming ‘home’ for me,” he shared. “As much as I play live, I started off as a studio rat banging away on my MPC2000, and putting together beats and grooves. I have always been a huge fan of DJ culture, but instead of working with turntables, I always had a bass in my hand. With that, and the live projects I have been involved with over the last couple of years such as Headtronics with DJ Logic, and FREEKBOT with DJ Tobotius, it felt like a natural progression for where I am at musically… When it came time to make this album, just like I do when I play live with the projects mentioned earlier, it felt inspiring to start from that platform of working with other DJs, and electronic-oriented groove machine musicians, and let my bass be the glue between each track. I have always had a pretty unconventional bass sound, and it seems to fit in well with all of the new soundscapes of the electric world. When I am playing and writing both live and in the studio is where I have always felt the most focused, and balanced, which is why the title Concentrate came to mind : ‘to bring or draw to a common center or point of union focus’…”

Preview and download Concentrate:

Concentrate Track List:

  1. Grinder
  2. Dream Pit
  3. R U With Me?
  4. Victory Redux
  5. Funkin’ All Nite
  6. Insomnia
  7. Jingy
  8. Gypsy Eggs
  9. High On The Loose
  10. When You’re Finished

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts