Terri Lynne Carrington Releases The Mosaic Project, Featuring Esperanza Spalding

Terri Lynne Carrington: The Mosaic ProjectDrummer Terri Lynne Carrington has released The Mosaic Project, an album featuring all female musicians including bassist Esperanza Spalding, as well as Dee Dee Bridgewater, Dianne Reeves, Cassandra Wilson, Nona Hendryx, Gretchen Parlato and others.

“Everything about this recording is about making a larger picture out of many various elements,” Carrington explains. “I assembled several friends – most of whom I’ve performed with in the past, and all of whom bring their own individual story – to help me create the big picture. For as talented as each of them are as individuals, when I put them all together, I have a much greater musical story – one that can be told in an interesting and compelling way.”

In addition to her bass playing, Spalding also added her vocal talents to the songs “Unconditional Love” and “Crayola,” which she penned.

“I’m really blessed that Terri thought of me to be a part of this project,” Spalding said. “It’s just powerful music. These are heavy, heavy, heavy musicians who have played with the best.”

Preview and download The Mosaic Project:

The Mosaic Project Track List:

  1. Transformation
  2. I Got Lost In His Arms
  3. Michelle
  4. Magic And Music
  5. Echo
  6. Simply Beautiful
  7. Unconditional Love
  8. Wistful
  9. Crayola
  10. Soul Talk
  11. Mosaic Triad
  12. Insomniac
  13. Show Me A Sign
  14. Sisters On The Rise (A Transformation)

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts

  1. Juan Carabajal