Sly Stone Releases “I’m Back! Family & Friends”, with Some Help from Bootsy Collins

Sly Stone: I'm Back! Family & FriendsIt has been more than a quarter of a century since Sly and the Family Stone frontman Sly Stone has released a complete album of new recordings.

All that changed with the release of I’m Back! Family & Friends, a first since his 1982 effort, Ain’t But the One Way.

The album features many familiar tunes to longtime Sly and the Family Stone fans, reworked with the help of several musicians who joined Sly on the project.

Bootsy Collins performs on “Hot Fun In The Summertime”. Jeff Beck, Carmine Appice, Johnny Winter, The Doors’ Ray Manzarek and Heart’s Ann Wilson also perform on the album.

The album includes three new tracks, “Plain Jane”, “His Eye Is On The Sparrow” and “Get Away”.

Preview and download I’m Back! Family & Friends:

I’m Back! Family & Friends Track List:

  1. Dance To The Music (featuring Ray Manzarek)
  2. Everyday People (featuring Ann Wilson)
  3. Family Affair
  4. Stand! (featuring Carmine Appice & Ernie Watts)
  5. Thank You (Falettinme Be Mice Elf Agin)” (featuring Johnny Winter)
  6. (I Want To Take You) Higher (featuring Jeff Beck)
  7. Hot Fun In The Summertime (featuring Bootsy Collins)
  8. Dance To The Music
  9. Plain Jane
  10. His Eye Is On The Sparrow
  11. Get Away

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts