Brian Bromberg’s “Hands” Now Available in U.S.

Brian Bromberg: HandsJazz bassist Brian Bromberg’s solo acoustic bass album Hands is now available in the U.S. via his website. The 15-track disc features a variety of tunes ranging from straight-ahead jazz standards like “Stella By Starlight” to classic rock like Led Zeppelin’s “Black Dog,” all done with one bass in one take.

Though he admits he was skeptical to make a completely solo bass album, Bromberg took the opportunity to stretch out and be spontaneous. He engineered the album himself, only picking the songs once he became inspired.

“When I recorded this CD, I recorded nineteen songs over the length of the project… Of the nineteen songs there were only two songs that I knew wanted to do in advance of this recording,” the bassist noted. “The remaining seventeen songs that I recorded I picked while I was recording this CD and in the studio. I really wanted the spirit and vibe of this project to be as live and unrehearsed as possible. There are also no overdubs on this recording, just live bass playing in the studio.”

Hands Track List:

  1. Stella By Starlight (Victor Young)
  2. Cute (Neal Hefti)
  3. Solar (Miles Davis)
  4. Beatles Medley Day Tripper-Yesterday-Eleanor Rigby (John Lennon, Paul McCartney)
  5. Black Orpheus (Luiz Bonfa)
  6. In A Sentimental Mood (Duke Ellington)
  7. King Of Pain (Gordon Sumner)
  8. Teen Town (Jaco Pastorius)
  9. Susumu’s Blues (Brian Bromberg)
  10. Black Dog (Jimmy Page, Robert Plant, John Paul Jones)
  11. In Your Own Sweet Way (Dave Brubeck)
  12. Use Me (Bill Withers)
  13. Recordame’ (Joe Henderson)
  14. What Are You Doing The Rest Of Your Life? (Michel Legrand)
  15. Yeah (Jonathon Smith, La Marquis Jefferson, James Phillips)

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts