Jane’s Addiction Releases “The Great Escape Artist”

Jane's Addiction: The Great Escape ArtistAfter nearly two years of writing and with the help of three bassists, Jane’s Addiction have released The Great Escape Artist. The new record is their fourth studio album and their first since their 2008 reunion.

After the departure of Eric Avery in 2010, Jane’s Addiction began writing the album, enlisting the help of former Guns ‘N Roses bassist Duff McKagan. McKagan ultimately left about six months later, citing musical differences although three songs co-written by him made the album.

The band then recruited TV on the Radio’s Dave Sitek for the studio and writing process, though his schedule didn’t permit full-time status. Finally, they called in Chris Chaney, who had played with them during their 2003 reunion.

“There are a few moments on songs that I am playing bass parts, but overall the bass duties are split between Dave Sitek and Chris Chaney, both creative and talented players,” says guitarist Dave Navarro. “Chaney will be touring with us when the tour to support the album begins. He is the only bassist that has recorded a full length album with us, and is truly a member of the Jane’s Addiction family, besides Avery, especially on the road. We are certainly lucky to have himThe album features playing from both Sitek and Chaney.”

Preview and download The Great Escape Artist:

The Great Escape Artist Track List:

  1. Underground
  2. End To The Lies
  3. Curiosity Kills
  4. Irresistable Force
  5. I’ll Hit You Back
  6. Twisted Tales
  7. Ultimate Reason
  8. Splash A Little Water On It
  9. Broken People
  10. Words Right Out Of My Mouth

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts