Meshell Ndegeocello Releases Weather

Meshell Ndegeocello: WeatherBlending hip-hop, rock, go-go and even a little country, bassist/singer/multi-instrumentalist Meshell Ndegeocello makes her return with her ninth studio album, Winter.

The album, as diverse as the bassist herself, is the first studio effort since the 2009 release, Devil’s Halo.

Even with the diversity, Ndegeocello describes Weather as organic and “song-based,” with an emphasis on groove. Among her original tunes are two covers: Leonard Cohen’s “Chelsea Hotel” and The Soul Children’s “Don’t Take My Kindness for Weakness.”

Ndegeocello will begin a tour this month and next year in support of the new release.

Preview and download Weather:

Preview “Chance”:

Weather Track List:

  1. Weather
  2. Objects in Mirror Are Closer Than They Appear
  3. Feeling for the Wall
  4. Chance
  5. Oysters
  6. Rapid Fire
  7. Chelsea Hotel
  8. Dirty World
  9. A Bitter Mule
  10. Crazy and Wild
  11. Petite Mort
  12. Dead End
  13. Don’t Take My Kindness for Weakness

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts