Bill Wyman Releases Rhythm Kings Collectors’ Edition Box Set

Bill Wyman's Rhythm Kings Collectors’ Edition Box SetIn the early ‘90s, Bill Wyman left the rock and roll dynasty known as The Rolling Stones to form the Rhythm Kings. Today, a new box set chronicles the band’s entire recorded career.

The Rhythm Kings Collectors’ Edition Box Set contains all four of their studio albums released from 1998 to 2001, including the 2-CD Double Bill.

The tracks in the set include guest appearances by Wyman’s friends and some of the biggest names in rock, including Eric Clapton, George Harrison, Mark Knopfler, Peter Frampton and Any Fairweather-Low, to name a few.

Wyman shared the story behind leaving the Stones and forming the Rhythm Kings.

“In ’91, the Stones had a big business meeting,” the bassist recalls. “They were about to sign the contract with Virgin, and I said, ‘I won’t be doing that, ‘cause I’m leaving.’ ‘No you’re not,’ they said. ‘You can’t leave.’ ‘Well, I am.’ Bless them, they didn’t believe me for two years; they left the door open until they were ready to go out on the ‘94 tour. And in late ‘93, Charlie and Mick came ‘round and said, ‘Is it definite? Have you left?’ I said, ‘I left two years ago.’

“So then I thought, maybe I should do some music on the side, but not heavy; I don’t want to have to worry about charts, image and all that crap. It’s not gonna be a career move – I’m just gonna do it for the fun. I got together with my mate and right-hand man Terry Taylor, and I said, ‘Let’s do something.’

Preview and download The Rhythm Kings Collectors’ Edition Box Set:

The Rhythm Kings Collectors’ Edition Box Set Track List:

Disc 1: Struttin’ Our Stuff

  1. Green River
  2. Walking On My Own
  3. Melody
  4. Stuff (Can’t Get Enough)
  5. Bad To Be Alone
  6. I’m Mad
  7. Down In The Bottom
  8. Motorvatin’ Mama
  9. Jitterbug Boogie
  10. Going Crazy Overnight
  11. Hole In My Soul
  12. Tobacco Road

Disc 2: Anyway The Wind Blows

  1. Anyway The Wind Blows
  2. Spooky
  3. Walking One & Only
  4. Mojo Boogie
  5. Too Late
  6. Every Sixty Seconds
  7. Ring My Bell
  8. Days Like This
  9. He’s Real Gone Guy
  10. A True Romance
  11. Gee Baby Ain’t I Good To You
  12. When Hollywood Goes Black And Tan
  13. Crazy He Calls Me
  14. Struttin’ Our Stuff
  15. Sugar Babe
  16. Gonna Find Me A New Love

Disc 3: Groovin’

  1. Tell You A Secret
  2. Groovin’
  3. Rough Cut Diamond
  4. Mood Swing
  5. Hole In The Wall
  6. Can’t Get My Rest At Night
  7. I Put A Spell On You
  8. Tomorrow Night
  9. I Want To Be Evil
  10. Rhythm King
  11. Daydream
  12. Oh Baby
  13. Streamline Woman
  14. Yesterdays

Disc 4: Double Bill

  1. Long Walk To DC
  2. Hot Foot Blues
  3. Hit That Jive Jack
  4. Love Letters
  5. Love’s Down The Drain
  6. I Can’t Dance
  7. Medley: Snap Your Fingers/What A Friend We Have In Jesus
  8. Get In The Kitchen
  9. Boogie Woogie All Night Long
  10. Medley: Do You Or Don’t You/I Wanna Know
  11. Trust In Me
  12. Turn On Your Lovelight

Disc 5: Double Bill

  1. The Joint Is Jumping
  2. Brownskin Girl
  3. Tired & Sleepy
  4. Lonely Blue Boy
  5. Bye Bye Blues
  6. Where’s The Money
  7. Jellyroll Fool
  8. Jealous Girl
  9. My Handy Man
  10. Rollin’ & Stumblin’
  11. Keep On Truckin’
  12. Breakin’ Up The House

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts