Chick Corea, Eddie Gomez and Paul Motian Release “Further Explorations”

Chick Corea, Eddie Gomez and Paul Motian: Further ExplorationsIn a fitting tribute to Bill Evans, Chick Corea teamed up with bassist Eddie Gomez and drummer Paul Motian – both alumni of Evans’ trios – to record a new album.

Further Explorations is a double CD set featuring the trio’s takes on tunes from Evans book as well as a few new originals, recorded over a two week set at the Blue Note in New York in 2010.

Gomez and Motian weren’t in Evans’ trio at the same time, and the title of the CD comes from Evans’ 1961 release with bassist Scot LaFaro and Matian on drums. Fans of Evans will enjoy his original composition, “Song No. 1”, which was never performed and only recently discovered.

Preview and download Further Explorations:

Further Explorations Track List:

Disc 1:

  1. Peri’s Scope
  2. Gloria’s Step
  3. They Say That Falling In Love Is Wonderful
  4. Alice In Wonderland
  5. Song No. 1
  6. Diane
  7. Off The Cuff
  8. Laurie
  9. Bill Evans
  10. Little Rootie Tootie

Disc 2:

  1. Hot House
  2. Mode VI
  3. Another Tango
  4. Turn Out The Stars
  5. Rhapsody
  6. Very Early
  7. But Beautiful – Part 1
  8. But Beautiful – Part 2
  9. Puccini’s Walk

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts