the online magazine for bass players

Search Menu

Legendary Reggae Duo Sly & Robbie Release “Blackwood Dub”

Sly & Robbie: Blackwood DubThe legendary Jamaican rhythm section duo of drummer Sly Dunbar and bassist Robbie Shakespeare have released Blackwood Dub. The 10-track collection of instrumental songs was written by the Sly and Robbie and has a sense of groove that just won’t quit.

The duo, who have helped to shape the face of Reggae and rock/pop music, recorded the album at the Harry J Studio, which is where Bob Marley & The Wailers recorded their first albums for Island Records. Other musicians on the album include guitarist Mikey “Mao” Chung and percussionist Uziah “Sticky” Thompson.

Preview and download Blackwood Dub:

Blackwood Dub Track List:

  1. Dirty Flirty
  2. Shabby Attack
  3. Burru Saturday
  4. Communication Breakdown
  5. Frenchman Code
  6. Riding East
  7. Ruff House
  8. Smoothie
  9. The Bomber
  10. The Great Escape