the online magazine for bass players

Search Menu

Albert Collins’ “Live From Austin, TX” Finally Released on CD

Albert Collins: Live From Austin, TXOn October 28, 1991, Albert Collins took the stage in Austin, Texas, performing in front of an audience for Austin City Limits. Collins and his band really tore it up that night, and 17 years later, a DVD of the performance was released.

The man holding down the grooves behind the Ice Man was his long-time bassist, Johnny B. Gayden. Gayden recorded nine albums with Collins, and performed on a number of shows which also made it to DVD.

This week, the entire performance from that night was released on CD for the first time. This new edition includes both the audio CD and the DVD in a two-disc set.

Live From Austin, TX Track List:

  1. Mr. Collins, Mr. Collins
  2. My Woman Has a Black Cat Bone
  3. Iceman
  4. Lights Are On But Nobody s Home
  5. Put The Shoe On the Other Foot
  6. The Things That I Used To Do
  7. Head Rag
  8. Travelin South
  9. Frosty

Here’s a clip from the DVD, with the band performing “Ice Man”: