the online magazine for bass players

Search Menu

John Carey Releases “Oh So Funky”, Celebrating The Music of The Meters

John Carey: Oh So FunkyBassist John Carey has released his newest solo effort, Oh So Funky, an album full of music by The Meters. Summoning the spirit of George Porter’s playing, Carey recruited a top-notch band for the project including drummer Anton Fig, guitarist Oz Noy, and Andy Narell on steelpans, who fills the original role of organ.

Late Show bassist Will Lee also makes a vocal cameo on the opening track, “Cabbage Alley”.

“Ain’t no thing funky like The Meters,” Carey states. “It’s that simple. They move and they groove, and strut themselves second nature. They are the filament, the light by which we have all been lit, whether you know it or not… a funky miracle profound.”

We couldn’t have said it better ourselves.

Preview and download Oh So Funky:

Also available for preview on Amazon MP3

Oh So Funky Track Listing:

  1. Cabbage Alley
  2. Chicken Strut
  3. Fire On the Bayou
  4. Funky Miracle
  5. Here Comes the Meter Man
  6. Look-Ka Py Py
  7. Pungee
  8. Sing a Simple Song
  9. Sophisticated Cissy
  10. Tippi-Toes
  11. 9 ‘til 5

Get the No Treble Daily Update in your inbox

Get the latest from No Treble in your inbox every morning.

Related topics:

Share your thoughts