Iron Maiden’s Steve Harris Announces Debut Solo Album

Steve Harris

Steve Harris and EMI Music have announced the longtime Iron Maiden bassist is releasing his debut solo album next month.

Entitled British Lion, the 10-track album is the result of the music he’s written and recorded in between recording and touring with Iron Maiden over the past few years.

Steve Harris: British LionAccording to a statement from the label, the album is “decidedly heavy rock-vibe this roaring debut paints with a full palette of sounds; brooding, melancholic, righteously indignant and exuberantly heavy.”

Harris says the album’s title came about due to his pride in being British.

“I don’t see any reason why I shouldn’t be,” he added. “It’s a massive part of being me. It’s not like I’m flag-waving or trying to preach, this is not a political statement at all. It’s like supporting your football team, where you come from. I just think it lends itself to some really strong imagery too, and to me it fits in with the sound.”

British Lion was mixed by Kevin Shirley, whose credits include work with Iron Maiden, Led Zeppelin, Journey and Rush. The album is currently available for pre-order, with a release date set for September 24, 2012.

Iron Maiden has released 15 studio albums and sold more than 85 million records worldwide during their 35-year run, with over 2,000 concerts in 58 countries. This is the first time Harris has stepped out on his own to show a different side of his music.

British Lion Track List:

  1. This Is My God
  2. Lost Worlds
  3. Karma Killer
  4. Us Against The World
  5. The Chosen Ones
  6. A World Without Heaven
  7. Judas
  8. Eyes Of The Young
  9. These Are The Hands
  10. The Lesson

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts

  1. This one should be a great record! Bring it on, ‘Arry!

  2. Looking forward to this one!