Sly and Robbie Release “New Legend – Jamaica 50th Edition”

Sly & Robbie & The Jam Masters: New Legend - Jamaica 50th EditionReggae masters Sly Dunbar and Robbie Shakespeare have done it again with New Legend – Jamaica 50th Edition, a new album of 10 original tracks celebrating Jamaica’s 50th anniversary of independence.

The drum and bass duo are joined by a new band called the Jam Masters, which is filled out by guitarist Earl “Chinna” Smith, keyboardist Robbie Lyn and vocalist Nioma.

The group said that their collective intent for the effort is to “present authentic, Jamaican reggae music to the world,” a feat which Sly and Robbie have been taking on for 40 years. The duo have been playing on reggae, ska, and rocksteady albums since the ’70s and are estimated to have played on or produced around 200,000 songs.

New Legend – Jamaica 50th Edition is available in digital formats (iTunes and Amazon MP3).

Preview and download New Legend – Jamaica 50th Edition:

New Legend – Jamaica 50th Edition Track List:

  1. Looking Up
  2. Say I Do
  3. Mother Nature
  4. Philly Roll
  5. Got It 4:07
  6. When I Am with You
  7. Come and Get It
  8. Beautiful
  9. Bodymist
  10. Thursday 2:37 AM

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts