Deftones Release “Koi No Yokan”

Deftones: Koi No YokanSeventeen years after releasing their debut, Deftones have released their seventh full-length studio album, Koi No Yokan.

The album is the second release without long-time bassist Chi Cheng, who continues to recover from a car accident in 2008. Bassist Sergio Vega, who performed on the 2010 release Diamond Eyes, took a larger role in Koi No Yokan, according to frontman Chino Moreno.

In an interview with Billboard, Moreno said the album is “not a super fast or slow record. It’s very dynamic… There’s a lot of aggression in some of the music, but there’s also this very soothing element where there’s a lot of soundscapes rather than attack, attack, attack the whole time.”

Deftones are currently on tour in the US, with dates in the UK, France and Germany kicking off in February 2013.

Koi No Yokan is available on CD and in digital formats (iTunes and Amazon MP3).

Preview and download Koi No Yokan:

Koi No Yokan Trailer:

Koi No Yokan Track List:

  1. Swerve City
  2. Romantic Dreams
  3. Leathers
  4. Poltergeist
  5. Entombed
  6. Graphic Nature
  7. Tempest
  8. Gauze
  9. Rosemary
  10. Goon Squad
  11. What Happened to You?

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts

  1. I’ve always been a fan of Deftones, but I only just found out about Chi, so sad…. I’ll have to get this album, sounds interesting. Here’s hoping Chi makes a full recovery, one love.

  2. I liked diamond eyes and this sounds promising, but I have to be honest; chi’s playing is sorely missed.