John Scofield Releases “Überjam Deux”, Featuring Andy Hess

John Scofield: Überjam DeuxJohn Scofield’s Grammy-nominated Überjam came out more than a decade ago. And while the guitarist has since released seven albums of his own, and five albums as a co-leader, the followup to Überjam has been in the works.

Überjam Deux is the result of that decade-plus of work.

“Certain songs have been evolving over the ten years since Überjam; [guitarist] Avi Bortnick had been working on some of these groove ideas and we took them and developed them into what you hear on our new record,” Scofield shares.

The 11-track album is centered around different styles and grooves.

“…They are all basically dance grooves,” Scofield adds. “Some might say they are from the African diaspora; there’s Rhythm and Blues, Afrobeat, reggae and house, but whatever they are they are all funky. We used all these amazing worldgrooves to blow over.

Scofield recruited bassist former Gov’t Mule and The Black Crowes bassist Andy Hess for the recording, along with Avi Bortnick on guitar and samples, Adam Deitch and Louis Cato on drums and special guest John Medeski on organ, Wurlitzer and mellotron.

Überjam Deux is out now on CD and digital formats (iTunes and Amazon MP3).

The band has announced a handful of tour dates in support of the album:

  • August 1, 2013: Boulder Theater in Boulder, CO
  • August 2, 2013: Telluride Jazz Celebration in Telluride, CO
  • August 3, 2013: Horning’s Hideout in North Plains, OR
  • August 4, 2013: Red Butte Garden Amphitheatre (co-bill with MMW) in Salt Lake City, UT

Überjam Deux Track List:

  1. Camelus
  2. Boogie Stupid
  3. Endless Summer
  4. Dub Dub
  5. Cracked Ice
  6. Al Green Song
  7. Snake Dance
  8. Scotown
  9. Torero
  10. Curtis Knew
  11. I Just Don’t Want To Be Lonely

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts