Randy Brecker Releases “Brecker Brothers Band Reunion” with Will Lee and Chris Minh Doky

Randy Brecker: Brecker Brothers Band ReunionThe surge of jazz fusion in the ’70s produced some incredible music, especially the work of the virtuosic Brecker Brothers. Led by trumpeter Randy Brecker and saxophonist Michael Brecker, their self-titled debut blew listeners away with an electric sound that melded genres and spawned the classic track “Some Skunk Funk.”

“When the band started back in the day, the original intent was to do a Randy Brecker record,” Randy stated. “We were rehearsing tunes every week with Michael, Don Grolnick, David Sanborn, Steve Khan, Chris Parker and Will Lee. Somehow, producer Steve Backer had gotten wind of the rehearsals. He knew of us – Michael and I had played together in Dreams, Billy Cobham’s band and Horace Silver’s quintet. He rang me and said, ‘If you call this band The Brecker Brothers, I’ll sign you tomorrow to Clive Davis’ new label, Arista Records.’”

The band went on to release seven more studio albums.

Sadly, Michael died of leukemia in 2007, but Randy is carrying on their collaboration. The trumpeter has reassembled the band to create The Brecker Brothers Band Reunion, a CD/DVD release with studio and live recordings. Every member of the personnel who served in the band throughout its history is represented, including bassists Will Lee and Chris Minh Doky. The four-stringers share credits on the studio album while Lee is features solely on the live DVD.

Other musicians include David Sanborn, George Whitty, Adam Rogers, Rodney Holmes, Dean Brown, Mitch Stein, Mike Stern, Ada Rovatti, Jim Campagnola, Oli Rockberger and Dave Weckl.

Brecker Brothers Band Reunion is available now on CD and digital formats (iTunes and Amazon MP3).

The Brecker Brothers Band Reunion Track List:

CD: (Studio Recording):

  1. First Tune of the Set
  2. Stellina
  3. The Dipshit
  4. Merry Go Town
  5. The Slag
  6. Really In For It
  7. Elegy For Mike
  8. On The Rise
  9. Adina
  10. R n Bee
  11. Musician’s Old Lady Dues Blues

DVD: (Live at the Blue Note, NYC)

  1. First Tune Of The Set
  2. The Slag
  3. Adina
  4. Really In For It
  5. Straphangin’
  6. Stellina
  7. Merry Go Town
  8. Inside Out
  9. Some Skunk Funk

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts