Caspian Releases “Hymn for the Greatest Generation”

Caspian: Hymn for the Greatest GenerationHymn for the Greatest Generation, post-rock outfit Caspian’s first release since the August death of bassist Chris Friedrich, is a six-song EP featuring new music as well as remixes of two songs from the band’s last full-length LP, Waking Season.

Both “Procellous” and “Halls of the Summer” from Waking Season receive the remix treatment. Another Waking Season track, “High Lonesome,” appears here in demo form.

The three remaining songs are new or previously unreleased. Pitchfork disputes the post-rock moniker as it gives the title track high praise… it “is a rock song, albeit an unusually gorgeous one.”

The site Violent Success says it’s an EP that packs “a lot of punch” and keeps the band in the forefront of the post-rock genre.

All a fitting elegy for Friedrich, who was one of the band’s founding members.

You can hear the record at Caspian’s website. Hymn for the Greatest Generation is out now on CD, vinyl and digital formats (iTunes and Amazon MP3).

Hymn for the Greatest Generation Track List:

  1. Hymn for the Greatest Generation
  2. The Heart That Fed
  3. CMF
  4. High Lonesome (Demo)
  5. Procellous (Arms & Sleepers remix)
  6. Halls of the Summer (Lazerbeak remix)

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts