Jerry Garcia Band/Bob Weir and Rob Wasserman Release “Fall 1989: The Long Island Sound”

Jerry Garcia Band/Bob Weir & Rob Wasserman: Fall 1989: The Long Island SoundIn 1989, The Jerry Garcia Band embarked on what would become a well-remembered East Coast tour, featuring Grateful Dead guitarist/vocalist Bob Weir and upright bass player Rob Wasserman as the opening act.

Fall 1989: The Long Island Sound commemorates that tour on six CDs of music: complete performances from Sept. 5 (Hartford Civic Center in Connecticut) and Sept. 6 at Nassau Coliseum in New York. Each show includes bass improvisation by Wasserman, also known for his work with Weir in Ratdog, and a wide variety of other artists, like Elvis Costello, Bruce Cockburn, Neil Young, Jackson Browne, Oingo Boingo and the late Lou Reed.

The shows were preserved on digital audiotape and while the recordings have been mastered, they do include some imperfections, including a vocal distortion on one track, according to the Jerry Garcia website.

The set features cover art from legendary album and poster artist Stanley Mouse, as well as a liner note essay and archival photos.

Fall 1989: The Long Island Sound is out now as a 6-CD box set as well as in digital formats (iTunes and Amazon MP3).

Check out Weir and Wasserman’s performance of “Throwing Stones” from Sept. 5, 1989 in Hartford, CT (audio only):

As befits live recordings, here’s the setlists:

September 5th, 1989 – Hartford Civic Center – Hartford, CT

Bob Weir & Rob Wasserman

  1. Festival
  2. Fever
  3. K.C. Moan
  4. Desolation Row
  5. Looks Like Rain
  6. The Winners
  7. Victim or the Crime
  8. Wasserman Bass Improvisation no. 1
  9. Throwing Stones

Jerry Garcia Band

Set One:

  1. Cats Under the Stars
  2. They Love Each Other
  3. Waiting for a Miracle
  4. Run for the Roses
  5. Like a Road
  6. My Sisters and Brothers
  7. Deal

Set Two:

  1. The Harder They Come
  2. Mission in the Rain
  3. Forever Young
  4. Evangeline
  5. Gomorrah
  6. Don’t Let Go
  7. Lonesome and a Long Way From Home

September 6th, 1989 – Nassau Coliseum – Uniondale, NY

Bob Weir & Rob Wasserman

  1. Walking Blues
  2. City Girls
  3. Fever
  4. Blackbird
  5. When I Paint My Masterpiece
  6. Shade of Grey
  7. The Winners
  8. Easy to Slip
  9. Wasserman Bass Improvisation no. 2
  10. Heaven Help The Fool

Jerry Garcia Band

Set One:

  1. How Sweet It Is (To Be Loved By You)
  2. Stop That Train
  3. That’s What Love Will Make You Do
  4. Mississippi Moon
  5. I Second That Emotion
  6. And It Stoned Me
  7. Deal

Set Two:

  1. The Harder They Come
  2. Dear Prudence
  3. I Shall Be Released
  4. Let It Rock
  5. Evangeline
  6. That Lucky Old Sun
  7. Tangled Up in Blue

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts