the online magazine for bass players

Search Menu

Railroad Earth Releases “Last of the Outlaws”

Railroad Earth: Last of the OutlawsAmericana band Railroad Earth has released its first studio album in three years, Last of the Outlaws.

The record’s eclectic mix of roots sounds shouldn’t surprise fans of the band or its bassist, Andrew Altman, who joined the group in 2010. In a quick-hit interview with a couple of years back, Altman listed the five albums that changed his life, and not everything was in the traditional/jam band sphere. Instead, his albums were Pearl Jam’s Ten, A Live One by Phish, Explorations by jazz pianist Bill Evans and his trio, Bright Eyes’ I’m Wide Awake, It’s Morning and Wilco’s Sky Blue Sky.

Railroad Earth’s Last of the Outlaws ranges from the bluegrassy “Chasin’ a Rainbow” to the looser, roadhouse bluesy “One More Night On the Road.” It also features the long-form piece, “All That’s Dead May Live Again/Face With a Hole.”

Get a taste of the record through these cool promo videos, directed by the band’s TIm Carbone:

Last of the Outlaws is available on CD, vinyl and digital formats (iTunes and Amazon MP3).

Last of the Outlaws Track List:

  1. Chasin’ a Rainbow
  2. Last of the Outlaws
  3. Grandfather Mountain
  4. All That’s Dead May Live Again: Introit, Tuba, Mirum, Lacrimosa, Dies Irae
  5. Face With a Hole: In Paradisum
  6. Monkey
  7. Hangtown Ball
  8. When the Sun Gets in Your Blood
  9. One More Night on the Road
  10. Take a Bow

Get the No Treble Daily Update in your inbox

Get the latest from No Treble in your inbox every morning.

Related topics: ,

Share your thoughts