Arild Andersen Releases “Mira”

Arild Andersen: MiraNorwegian jazz bass great Arild Andersen has produced a studio album of ballads with drummer Paolo Vinaccia and tenor sax player Tommy Smith – the same trio responsible for the Live at Belleville album.

Mira features mostly work written by Andersen, but it does include a cover of Burt Bacharach’s classic, “Alfie.”

In an interview with Jazz Times reproduced on his website, Andersen enthuses about the trio, calling it his ideal band.

“The feeling of three equally balanced musicians is very important for me, and with this trio I think I’ve finally found it. Also, without keyboards or guitar, I can use my electronics more freely.”

Here’s the trio in action on the album’s title track:

Mira is out now on CD and digital formats (iTunes and Amazon MP3).

Mira Track List:

  1. Bygone
  2. Blussy
  3. Alfie
  4. Rossetti
  5. Reparate
  6. Raijin
  7. Le Saleya
  8. Kangiten
  9. Mira
  10. Eight and More
  11. Stevtone

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts