Colin Edwin and Lorenzo Feliciati Team Up for “Twinscapes”

Colin Edwin and Lorenzo Feliciati: TwinscapesItalian jazz rock/nu-jazz bassist Lorenzo Feliciati (Naked Truth/Berserk!) and Australian progressive bassist Colin Edwin (Porcupine Tree/Metallic Taste of Blood) have joined forces as a bass duo on Twinscapes.

The bassists first connected at a London gig in early 2013, just as Edwin was thinking about creating a dual-bass project. The pair rehearsed for a few days in the English countryside before recording, but all fell into place quite easily, according to Edwin. “…even from our brief rehearsal, it certainly felt like we had a natural way of playing together. Without any real discussion we managed to find a way of fitting around each other, despite occupying the same frequency area.”

Both men play fretted and fretless basses on the record, which moves from ambient drones to funk in the hands of the virtuosos and the other players assembled for the project.

The teaser for the album might give you an idea of what to expect from Twinscapes:

Twinscapes is available on CD, vinyl and digital formats (iTunes and Amazon MP3.)

Twinscapes Track List:

  1. Shaken
  2. Alice
  3. In Dreamland
  4. Breathsketch
  5. Transparent
  6. i-DEA
  7. Conspiracy
  8. Perfect Tool
  9. Sparse
  10. Yügen
  11. Solos

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts