Asia Releases “Gravitas”

Asia: GravitasAsia’s 14th studio album, Gravitas, is a pure expression of the progressive rock band, according to lead vocalist and bassist John Wetton (formerly of King Crimson). “It conveys the spectrum of emotion and color from real life agonies to ecstatic fantasy of escapism. Great songs, fabulous performance. Gravitas is ASIA by ASIA. At last.”

Asia is best known for its early 1980s chart-toppers “Heat of the Moment” and “Only Time Will Tell.”

Gravitas is the band’s first since XXX in 2012 and marks the debut of new guitarist Sam Coulson, who replaces longtime guitarist Steve Howe (Yes), who left to pursue other musical interests, including solo work. Wetton and keyboardist Geoff Downes also wrote and produced the record.

A deluxe edition of Gravitas being made available includes two bonus tracks, a DVD with the video for the single “Valkyrie”, a promo film, and classic Asia footage.
Check out the video for “Valkyrie”:

Gravitas is available as a CD/DVD set and as music only digital downloads (iTunes and Amazon MP3.)

Gravitas Track List:

  1. Valkyrie
  2. Gravitas
  3. The Closer I Get to You
  4. Nyctophobia
  5. Russian Dolls
  6. Heaven Help Me Now
  7. I Would Die for You
  8. Joe DiMaggio’s Glove
  9. Till We Meet Again
  10. The Closer I Get to You (Acoustic) [Bonus Track]
  11. Joe DiMaggio’s Glove (Acoustic) [Bonus Track]

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts