the online magazine for bass players

Search Menu

Robert Cray Releases “In My Soul”, Featuring Richard Cousins

Robert Cray: In My SoulGuitarist Robert Cray is back with his blues/soul sound on his 17th studio album, In My Soul.

This time out, The Robert Cray Band includes Cray’s childhood friend Richard Cousins on bass, along with Dover Weinberg on keyboards and Les Falconer on drums. Cousins first played with the band from 1979-1991 and rejoined in 2007. Weinberg is also an early member who has just returned to the fold after playing with Cray’s band from 1974-1979.

The record is a full-on band effort, too, with Cousins co-writing the Booker T. and the MG’s-style instrumental “Hip Tight Onions” and another, 70’s-Philly-soul influenced song, “Hold On.”

Along with originals, which include the bonus track “Pillow” co-written by Clay and “I Guess I’ll Never Know,” co-written by Falconer, the album influenced by Stax and Chess records sounds features covers of “Deep In My Soul,” made famous by Bobby “Blue” Bland and “Your Good Thing (Is About to End)” which is best known for Lou Rawls’ rendition, and Otis Redding’s “Nobody’s Fault But Mine.”

Get a feel for the album in this trailer for the record:

In My Soul is available on CD, vinyl and digital format (iTunes and Amazon MP3.)

In My Soul Track List:

  1. You Move Me
  2. Nobody’s Fault but Mine
  3. Fine Yesterday
  4. Your Good Thing (Is About to End)
  5. I Guess I’ll Never Know
  6. Hold On
  7. What Would You Say
  8. Hip Tight Onions
  9. You’re Everything
  10. Deep In My Soul
  11. Pillow (bonus track)

Get the No Treble Daily Update in your inbox

Get the latest from No Treble in your inbox every morning.

Related topics:

Share your thoughts