Mark Egan Returns With “About Now”

Mark Egan: About NowMark Egan (Pat Metheny Group, Sting, Arcadia, Roger Daltry and Joan Osborne) is showing off his stellar fretless bass chops on About Now, his seventh album.

Egan, a contemporary jazz composer, recorded the instrumental album as part of a trio featuring Danny Gottlieb on drums and Mitchel Forman on keyboards, both musicians with whom he has recorded before — Gottlieb is a former bandmate in both the Pat Metheny Group and the band Elements. About Now is also on Egan’s own Wavetone Records as the label’s 20th release.

“…there are open and impressionistic compositions, and others that are groove tunes that allow us all to really experiment,” Egan says in describing About Now, which was recorded in his Connecticut home studio. “This recording features my fretless playing in an intimate trio setting in a different way than any of my other recordings.”

Egan’s creative life took flight after he studied privately during his college years with the great late Jaco Pastorius. “When I heard Jaco play it made me aware of what could be done on the electric bass. Jaco was an innovator and to be in his presence was uplifting and inspiring during those early years.”

About Now is available on CD and digital format (iTunes and Amazon MP3.)

About Now Track List:

  1. Sailing
  2. Slinky
  3. About Now
  4. Cabarete
  5. Graceful Brunch
  6. Mckenzie Portage
  7. Little Pagoda
  8. Tea in Tiananmen Square
  9. Puerto Plata

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts