the online magazine for bass players

Search Menu

Spoon Returns with First Album in Four Years, “They Want My Soul”

Spoon: They Want My SoulSpoon’s eighth album, They Want My Soul, is the band’s first in four years.

It also marks the Texas band’s shift from an indie label (Merge) to a major (Loma Vista, an imprint of Universal Music Group) and the addition of a new member — Alex Fischel on guitar and keyboards.

During that four-year hiatus, bassist Rob Pope (also of The Get Up Kids) opened a bar, and lead singer/songwriter Britt Daniel formed a side group, Divine Fits.

But even after the break, Spoon’s sound remains intact.

Just listen to the single, “Do You”:

They Want My Soul is available on CD, vinyl and as digital download (iTunes and Amazon MP3).

They Want My Soul Track List:

  1. Rent I Pay
  2. Inside Out
  3. Rainy Taxi
  4. Do You
  5. Knock Knock Knock
  6. Outlier
  7. They Want My Soul
  8. I Just Don’t Understand
  9. Let Me Be Mine
  10. New York Kiss