The Bad Plus Create an “Inevitable Western” with Latest Release

The Bad Plus: Inevitable WesternThe Bad Plus, on the heels of releasing its take on The Rite of Spring earlier this year, has now released its first album of original music since 2012’s Made Possible.

Inevitable Western is an album “rich with mystery,” according to the website for the leaderless avant-jazz piano-bass-drums trio.

The group is devoted to exploring musical forms birthed from jazz, and those find expression on the album in everything from bassist Reid Anderson’s lyrical “Do It Again,” to pianist Ethan Iverson’s piece that gave the album its title — a composition evoking wide-open, dusty, free and weathered spaces of the American west as reflected by filmmaker Wim Wenders or the late photographer Richard Avedon.

Inevitable Western is available on CD and as a digital download (iTunes and Amazon MP3).

Inevitable Western Track List:

  1. I Hear You
  2. Gold Prisms Incorporated
  3. Self Serve
  4. You Will Lose All Fear
  5. Do It Again
  6. Epistolary Echoes
  7. Adopted Highway
  8. Mr. Now
  9. Inevitable Western

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts