Supergroup Flying Colors Releases Second Album

Flying Colors: Second NatureWow.

Flying Colors kicks into the second song of its second album, Second Nature, with a big ol’ blast of bass, courtesy of Dave LaRue. Just check out “Mask Machine” in the video we featured yesterday.

Flying Colors is the creation of former Dream Theater drummer Mike Portnoy, LaRue and guitarist Steve Morse (both known for their work in the Dixie Dregs), singer Casey McPherson (Alpha Rev), and singer/keyboardist Neal Morse (ex-Transatlantic and Spock’s Beard).

The supergroup’s second studio outing includes plenty of epic work, including “Open Up Your Eyes” and the multi-part “Cosmic Symphony.”

The music, LaRue said, was “tons of fun to play, and the songwriting is great. Collaborating with these guys teaches me a lot and forces me out of my comfort zone.”

Here’s a taste of the entire record:

Second Nature is available on CD and for digital download (iTunes and Amazon MP3).

Second Nature Track List:

  1. Open Up Your Eyes
  2. Mask Machine
  3. Bombs Away
  4. The Fury of My Love
  5. A Place in Your World
  6. Lost Without You
  7. One Lost Forever
  8. Peaceful Harbor
  9. Cosmic Symphony (i. Still Live of the World, ii. Searching for the Air, iii. Pound for Pound)

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts