Restored Version of Classic Genesis Concert Film Released

Genesis: Three Sides LiveGenesis’ 1981 concert film, Three Sides Live, is now available in standalone Blu-ray and DVD editions. While the film has been available to avid Genesis fans as part of the band’s extensive video collection, The Movie Box, and on VHS, this reissue features fully restored footage.

Filmed on the Abacab tour, Three Sides Live documents Genesis — guitarist/bassist Mike Rutherford, keyboardist Tony Banks, and singer/drummer Phil Collins, along with touring members Daryl Stuermer on guitar and bass (Stuermer also played on later Genesis tours, and served as lead guitarist on many of Collins’ solo albums and tours) and Chester Thompson (drums) as it transitioned from progressive band to 1980s pop music juggernaut.

You can get a really good feel for what the film — which intercuts interviews and behind-the-scenes footage with concert performances — is like in this clip, featuring the band doing “Turn It On Again”:

Three Sides Live is available on Blu-ray and DVD. The film can also be downloaded on iTunes.

Three Sides Live Track List:

  1. Behind The Lines
  2. Duchess
  3. Misunderstanding
  4. Dodo / Lurker
  5. Abacab
  6. No Reply At All
  7. Who Dunnit?
  8. Medley: In The Cage / The Cinema Show / The Colony Of Slippermen
  9. Afterglow
  10. Me & Sarah Jane
  11. Man On The Corner
  12. Turn It On Again

Bonus audio-only versions of:

  1. Behind The Lines
  2. Duchess
  3. Me & Sarah Jane
  4. Man On The Corner
  5. One For The Vine
  6. The Fountain Of Salmacis
  7. Follow You Follow Me

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts