Funkadelic is Back with 33 Songs After 33 Years

Funkadelic: First Ya Gotta Shake the GateFunkadelic has released an album of new music after a 33-year hiatus.

First Ya Gotta Shake the Gate is the first album the legendary funk group led by George Clinton has released since 1981’s The Electric Spanking of War Babies.

The new record, which combines classic funk with hip-hop sounds, features several bassists, including Rodney ‘Skeet’ Curtis, Lige Curry, Jeff ‘Cherokee’ Bunn, and Michael B. Patterson.

Here’s a slice of funk goodness from the 33-song, 3-CD set. Check out “Where Would I Go”:

First Ya Gotta Shake the Gate is available on CD and as a digital download (iTunes and Amazon MP3).

First Ya Gotta Shake the Gate Track List:

Disc 1:

  1. Baby Like Fonkin’ it Up
  2. Get Low
  3. If I Didn’t Love You
  4. F*cked Up
  5. Ain’t that Funkin’ Kinda Hard on You?
  6. I Mo B Yodog Fo Eva
  7. In Da Kar
  8. Radio Friendly
  9. Mathematics of Love
  10. Creases
  11. Not Your Average Rapper

Disc 2:

  1. first ya gottaShake the Gate
  2. Roller Rink
  3. J.olene
  4. Nuclear Dog Part II
  5. Dirty Queen
  6. You Can’t Unring the Bell
  7. Old Fool
  8. Pole Power
  9. Boom There We Go Again
  10. As In
  11. Bernadette
  12. Meow Meow

Disc 3:

  1. Catchin’ Boogie Fever
  2. The Naz
  3. Talking to the Wall
  4. Where would I Go?
  5. Yesterdejavu
  6. Zip It
  7. The Wall
  8. Snot n Booger
  9. Yellow Light
  10. Dipety Dipety Doo Stop The Violence

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts

  1. Anthony

    The music is cool, but George Clinton has zero range.

  2. Hell Yea glad there is a reason to get the funk out again.