the online magazine for bass players

Search Menu

Omer Avital Back with a “New Song”

Omer Avital: New SongIsraeli bassist and bandleader Omer Avital continues to delve into the linkages between jazz and Middle Eastern music on his latest album, New Song.

New Song is a follow-up record to 2012’s Suite of the East, and features his longtime band of Avishai Cohen on trumpet, Joel Frahm on tenor saxophone, Yonathan Avishai on piano, and Daniel Freedman on drums.

Avital is a celebrated musician and composer on the international jazz scene. You can hear why he and his group generate excitement in this performance of the album’s title track at the Nice Jazz Festival:

New Song is available on CD and as a digital download (iTunes and Amazon MP3).

New Song Track List:

  1. Hafla
  2. New Song
  3. Tsafdin
  4. Avishkes
  5. Sabah El-Kheir (Good Morning)
  6. New Middle East
  7. Maroc
  8. Ballad For a Friend
  9. Bedouin Roots
  10. Yemen Suite
  11. Small Time Shit

Get the No Treble Daily Update in your inbox

Get the latest from No Treble in your inbox every morning.

Related topics:

Share your thoughts