the online magazine for bass players

Search Menu

Imagine Dragons Release Smoke + Mirrors

Imagine Dragons: Smoke + MirrorsImagine Dragons’s sophomore effort, Smoke + Mirrors is already generating heat with the single “I Bet My Life.”

Britain’s Q Magazine has already given the album high marks — four stars — and compared the Las Vegas band’s vibe to that of “Songs From the Big Chair”-era Tears for Fears. It says the album is a “modern pop-rock gem.”

Other singles released ahead of the album, which features former Berklee School of Music student Ben McKee on bass, include “Shots” and “Gold.” Take a listen to the latter:

Smoke + Mirrors is available on CD, vinyl and as a digital download (iTunes and Amazon MP3).

Smoke + Mirrors Track List:

  1. Shots
  2. Gold
  3. Smoke and Mirrors
  4. I’m So Sorry
  5. I Bet My Life
  6. Polaroid
  7. Friction
  8. It Comes Back to You
  9. Dream
  10. Trouble
  11. Summer
  12. Hopeless Opus
  13. The Fall

Get the No Treble Daily Update in your inbox

Get the latest from No Treble in your inbox every morning.

Related topics: ,

Share your thoughts


I’ll try and give them another chance, but given that I could barely hear the bass line in their more popular work (which played EVERYWHERE) and that their song called “Radioactive” isn’t the best song called “Radioactive” (the Kings of Leon song has an awesome bass line), not having high hopes on Imagine Dragons.

To me, they’re the labels’ latest attempt at popular rock music after the Arcade Fire enthusiasm fizzled out.