the online magazine for bass players

Search Menu

Bob Gingery Releases Debut Album

Bob Gingery: TravelerBassist/composer Bob Gingery has released his debut record, Traveler, with his longtime band.

Jazz anchors Gingery’s work, but elements of rock, blues, and folk and modern harmonies can be heard on the record featuring his band: Jon Irabagon on saxophones (winner of 2008 Thelonious Monk competition), Mike Baggetta on guitar and Mark Ferber on drums.

“Most of the improvisation on this album is based on chord changes and set forms, but you can hear the freedom these players bring to the full range of music I wanted to explore,” Gingery said as he described working with the band on album, which is composed of eight original compositions.

Aside from recording and playing as a bandleader and a sideman, he’s also on the faculty at Concordia Conservatory in Bronxville, New York. He holds a masters degree in music from the City College of New York, where he studied with Ron Carter and John Patitucci.

Traveler is available on CD and as a digital download (iTunes and Amazon MP3).

Traveler Track List:

  1. Second Nature
  2. Wheeling
  3. Boot Hill
  4. Traveler
  5. Inland Empire
  6. Three Legged Dog
  7. Past Lives
  8. Cadence

Get the No Treble Daily Update in your inbox

Get the latest from No Treble in your inbox every morning.

Related topics:

Share your thoughts