Blur Returns With First Studio Album in a Dozen Years

Blur: The Magic WhipBlur has released its first album in 16 years as a four-piece outfit and its first studio record since 2003 for the three-piece version of the British band. The Magic Whip features bassist, farmer and farming columnist Alex James, drummer Dave Rowntree, vocalist Damon Albarn and guitarist Graham Coxon.

The music for the album began life while the band was on a 2013 tour break, but was put aside as the group completed the tour and then went home. But, in late 2014, Coxon started working with the music and Albarn added lyrics.

As you can hear, farmer Alex can lay down a groove. Give “Go Out” a listen:

The Magic Whip is available on CD, vinyl and as a digital download (iTunes and Amazon MP3).

The Magic Whip Track List:

  1. Lonesome Street
  2. New World Towers
  3. Go Out
  4. Ice Cream Man
  5. Thought I Was A Spaceman
  6. I Broadcast
  7. My Terracotta Heart
  8. There Are Too Many Of Us
  9. Ghost Ship
  10. Pyongyang
  11. Ong Ong
  12. Mirrorball

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts

  1. That was so cool and that ice-cream sure looked good, nice music.
    I’m working on a song different to the way this song is made but similar in a way. Got the sound down and part of the words.