Lorenzo Feliciati Releases “Koi”

Lorenzo Feliciati: KoiProgressive music fans take note: bassist Lorenzo Feliciati has released Koi, a 12-song concept album based on the life the river carp fish. Blending progressive rock and ambient soundscapes, the record features a host of guest musicians including Japan drummer Steve Jansen and King Crimson drummer Pat Mastelotto.

“Traditional Chinese folktales tell the story of Koi fish that swam up the Yellow River, and though taunted by demons, would not relent in their quest to jump over waterfalls,” a press release explains. “The gods noticed and celebrated their perseverance and endurance by transforming them into golden dragons, a symbol of strength and power. The Japanese recognized these fish not just for their beauty but for their ability to induce otherworldly states of perception in the observer. These altered states of perception ultimately lead to the attraction of high energy, which manifests itself in the form of prosperity of all kinds in our lives.”

The album flows between echoey piano atmospheres and percussive tracks filled out with punchy horns. “Margata” features the bassist on a fretless and pays homage to his musical hero, Jaco Pastorius.

Koi is available now on CD and digital download.

Koi Track List:

  1. Kohaku
  2. New House
  3. Kumonryu
  4. Oxbow
  5. Black Kumonryu
  6. Noir Alley Verdigris
  7. Ogon
  8. Narada
  9. Margata
  10. Kuchibeni
  11. Fish Bowl
  12. Koi

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts