Neil Young Pairs With Promise of the Real on New Album

Neil Young + Promise of the Real: The Monsanto YearsNeil Young’s latest album, The Monsanto Years, sees him teaming up with the rock band Promise of the Real, which is led by legendary musician and songwriter Willie Nelson’s sons Lukas and Micah.

Making the ecologically and environmentally oriented record was a thrill for Promise of the Real members, who even named their band after a line from a Young song.

“If you told my 15 year old self that someday I’d be in the studio with Neil, I wouldn’t believe you,” bassist Corey McCormick (also known for his work with Chris Cornell) said.

Get an idea of what the process was like for the guys (first video) and then hear how the young musicians’ sound complements Young’s on “Wolf Moon” (second):

The Monsanto Years is available in a CD/DVD set and as a digital download (iTunes and Amazon MP3.)

The Monsanto Years Track List:

Disc 1:

  1. A New Day For Love
  2. Wolf Moon
  3. People Want To Hear About Love
  4. Big Box
  5. A Rock Star Bucks A Coffee Shop
  6. Workin’ Man
  7. Rules Of Change
  8. Monsanto Years
  9. If I Don’t Know

Disc 2:

  1. Big Box
  2. A Rock Star Bucks A Coffee Shop
  3. Rules Of Change
  4. Workin’ Man
  5. Monsanto Years
  6. A New Day For Love
  7. Wolf Moon
  8. People Want To Hear About Love
  9. If I Don’t Know

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts