Darren Michaels Releases “Seasons”

Darren Michaels: SeasonsDarren Michaels has released Seasons, a 10-song collection that delves into the bassist’s singer/songwriter style. The album, which is his first full-length solo project in seven years, showcases his lyrics and creative bass playing with thought-provoking lyrics, altered tunings, and a chordal approach to the the bass.

Michaels utilized an arsenal of three basses to record the whole album, one of which is a 36-fret four-string with detuners on each string. He explains the range of each bass to get a beautiful timbre to accompany his vocals, which is something he’s always been interested in.

“The sound of vocals and acoustic guitar has always been a magical timbre to my ears,” Michaels explains. “I knew bass guitar is adept at capturing this magic timbre as well, but bass is rarely at liberty to show this beautiful side. More than just sharing the gorgeous sound of bass guitar, I wanted to write directly about the experience of living, from day-to-day details to the broad strokes of the seasons we all pass through on our individual journeys. These songs are about gratitude, determination, longing, brevity of life, gentle action, and love of Nature. You don’t have to be a bass aficionado to relate.”

Get a taste of Seasons with the opening track, “Come Down”:

Seasons is available now on BandCamp, CDBaby, iTunes, and Amazon.

Seasons Track List:

  1. Come Down
  2. Habits
  3. Words
  4. Knotted
  5. It’s Enough
  6. Get to Where I Go
  7. You Can
  8. So Close (Seasons)
  9. Not Fair
  10. All I Can Give

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts

  1. Awesome. Thanks, Kevin! No Treble rules!

  2. So glad to see this, I love Darren’s music!